[email protected]

+ 001 (936) 337-8589

IASNR Bridge Builder Award

The Bridge Builder Award is designed to celebrate association members who build bridges across novel boundaries– whether by identity, geographic, disciplinary, knowledge system and/or institutional – of the society and natural resources nexus. Awardees are celebrated at the annual conference, where they speak about their bridge-building work, are presented with a certificate, and have their registration fees waived. The Professional Development Committee works with award recipients unable to attend the conference to develop a webinar on their bridge-building activities.

Selection of the Bridge Builder Award is determined based on impact and outcome of work, scholarly/professional contribution, novelty of boundaries spanned, and duration of work relative to opportunity, which gives preference to early and mid-career applicants and equal opportunity for applicants across diverse opportunity structures.

2023 – Award Recipent

Emily S. Huff

Michigan State University, USA

Emily S. Huff (Michigan State University, USA) received the 2023 BB Award for her outstanding work to link social and natural sciences and diverse practitioners and communities in public and private lands management.

Bridge Builder Award Committee Members: Kelly Biedenweg (Oregon State University), Megha Budruk (Arizona State University), Candace K. May (South Dakota State University), Allie McCreary (Western Kentucky University), and Jill Weiss (SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry)

2022 – Inaugural Award

Kelly Biedenweg

Oregon State University, USA

Kelly Biedenweg (Oregon State University, USA) received the Inaugural, 2022 BB Award based on her work bridging boundaries across knowledges and institutions and within working relationships. Kelly works to link social and natural sciences in environmental restoration and protection with consideration for human wellbeing, while working toward Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.

Arini W. Utami

Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia

Arini W. Utami (Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia) was awarded an Honorable Mention based on her work developing international research and support networks for countries on the frontlines of climate change.

Bridge Builder Award Committee Members: Candace K. May (South Dakota State University, USA), Michelle Johnson (US Forest Service), Milton Newberry, III (Bucknell University, USA), and Alyssa Thomas (US Forest Service).